• Kackertstraße 11, 52072 Aachen
  • Telephone: +49-(0)241/84044
  • Fax: +49-(0)241/8793494
  • info@hbo-aachen.de
logo
  • Center for hyperbaric oxygen therapy (HBOT) and diving medicine

Research at the HBO-Zentrum Euregio Aachen

ID-100220946Working in close cooperation of the Aachen university clinic and the RWTH Aachen, our hyperbaric pressure chamber centre provides the facilities for not only treating patients with hyperbaric medicine but also for basic research and clinical research.

  • Influence of hyperbaric oxygen therapy on cardiac function

    The influence of hyperbaric oxygen therapy on cardiac function: major changes to atmospheric pressure have an influence on the cardiovascular system. The use of impedance cardiography allows analysis of the changes experienced by the heart function during exposure to different pressures. This project is in partnership with the Helmholtz institute of the RWTH Aachen.

    Contact: Dr. med. T. Janisch

  • Influence of hyperbaric oxygen therapy on microcirculation

    Good capillary circulation is essential in particular for the treatment of problem wounds. A microscopic camera is used to analyse the influence of HBO therapy on capillary circulation.

    Contact: Dr. med. T. Janisch

  • Influence of hyperbaric oxygen therapy on immunological processes

    HBO therapy has an effect on the human immune system. Biochemical analysis methods are intended to analyse immunological processes triggered by HBO therapy to better understand the processes involved.

    Contact: Dr. med. T. Janisch

  • Evaluation of microcirculation of the foot by mapping measurement points under the influence of hyperbaric oxygenation (HBO)

    Adequate perfusion of tissues is a prerequisite for satisfactory healing of wounds, in particular in the case of fractures of the foot and Achilles tendon injuries. The high rate of wound healing process disorders, infections and pseudo-arthrosis reflects on restrictions often present in microcirculation in the area of injury. This is due to a limited anatomical vascular circulation of the tarsal bones as well as resulting tissue damage (dislocation, haemorrhage, oedema, contamination etc.) and is furthermore influenced by individual patient factors and surgically-related trauma.

    The use of hyperbaric oxygen therapy in treatment and follow-up treatments is therefore considered as very promising because of its many positive effects. However, little is known on the precise impact of HBO on microcirculatory parameters.

    In order to evaluate the circulation of blood in the foot and the influence of hyperbaric oxygen on microcirculation, it is intended to prepare the mapping of specific measurement points of a healthy foot.

    By using the O2C unit (laser Doppler / white light spectroscopy: “oxygen to see”; LEA Medizintechnik GmbH), measurements are intended on the microcirculatory parameters of 40 healthy volunteers. Items to be considered are the oxygen saturation of haemoglobin, relative haemoglobin numbers, relative blood flow and blood flow velocity. A special area of interest are anatomically defined segments of the calcaneus and the talus, the Achilles tendon and soft tissue areas, which need to be incised for common calcaneus access paths (lateral L-incision, Palmer, McReynolds). The study makes use of a surface probe (2 mm and 8 mm depth) and a deep probe (15 mm depth). In total 31 measuring points are recorded on the right foot.

    The objective is to identify standard values for microcirculation based on a series of native measurements. This will then provide the basis for future early detection of threatening or existing wound complications in order to allow therapy. In addition, limits would be available to help identify the best access path for surgical intervention on a case-by-case basis.

    In order to be in the position to investigate the influence of HBO treatment on microcirculation (initially on volunteers, later on patients), a second series is planned directly after HBO treatment (90 minutes at 1.4 bar hyperbaric pressure).

    Contact: PD Dr. med. M. Knobe, Klinik für Unfallchirurgie Uniklinik RWTH Aachen






Contact Details

Centre for hyperbaric oxygen therapy (HBOT) and diving medicine

• Kackertstraße 11, 52072 Aachen
  • Telefon: +49-(0)241/84044
  • Fax: +49-(0)241/8793494
  • info(at)hbo-aachen.de
logo
  • Zentrum für hyperbare Sauerstofftherapie (HBO) und Tauchmedizin

Forschung am HBO-Zentrum Euregio Aachen

ID-100220946In enger Kooperation mit der Universitätsklinik Aachen und der RWTH Aachen wird an unserem Druckkammer-Zentrum neben der Behandlung von Patienten im Bereich Überdruckmedizin Grundlagen-Forschung sowie klinische Forschung betrieben.

  • Einfluss der hyperbaren Sauerstofftherapie auf die Herzfunktion

    Einfluss der hyperbaren Sauerstofftherapie auf die Herzfunktion: Starke Luftdruckveränderungen haben Einfluss auf das Herz-Kreislaufsystem. Mittels Impendanzcardiografie werden die Veränderungen, die die Herzfunktion während einer Druckexposition erfährt, analysiert. Dieses Projekt findet in Partnerschaft mit dem Helmholtz-Institut der RWTH Aachen statt.

    Ansprechpartner Dr. med. T. Janisch

  • Einfluss der hyperbaren Sauerstofftherapie auf die Mikrozirkulation

    Einfluss der hyperbaren Sauerstofftherapie auf die Mikrozirkulation: Insbesondere für die Behandlung von Problemwunden ist eine gute kapillare Durchblutung essentiell. Mittels einer Mikroskopkamera wird der Einfluss der HBO Therapie auf die kapillare Durchblutung analysiert.

    Ansprechpartner: Dr. med. T. Janisch

  • Einfluss der hyperbaren Sauerstofftherapie auf immunologische Vorgänge

    Einfluss der hyperbaren Sauerstofftherapie auf immunologische Vorgänge: HBO Therapie hat Einflüsse auf das menschliche Immunsystem. Mittels biochemischer Analyseverfahren sollen immunologische Veränderungen, welche durch die HBO Therapie ausgelöst werden, entschlüsselt und somit das Verständnis hierfür vertieft werden.

    Ansprechpartner: Dr. med. T. Janisch

  • Evaluation der Mikrozirkulation des Fußes durch Kartierung von Messpunkten unter dem Einfluss von Hyperbarer Oxygenation (HBO)

    Eine ausreichende Gewebedurchblutung stellt die Voraussetzung für zufriedenstellende Wundheilung dar, insbesondere bei Frakturen des Fußes sowie Achillessehnenverletzungen. Die hohe Rate an Wundheilungsstörungen, Infektionen und Pseudoarthrosen spiegelt die regelhaft vorliegende Einschränkung der Mikrozirkulation im Verletzungsgebiet wieder. Diese ist durch die eingeschränkte anatomische Gefäßversorgung der Fußwurzelknochen sowie den entstandenen Gewebeschäden (Dislokation, Einblutung, Ödem, Kontamination, etc.) bedingt und wird zusätzlich durch individuellen Patientenfaktoren sowie operationsbedingten Traumata beeinflusst.

    Die Behandlung mit hyperbarem Sauerstoff in der Therapie und Nachbehandlung gilt daher durch seine vielen positiven Effekte als vielversprechend. Über den genauen Einfluss der HBO auf mikrozirkulatorische Kenngrößen ist jedoch wenig bekannt.

    Zur Evaluation der Durchblutung des Fußes und dem Einfluss von hyperbarem Sauerstoff auf die Mikrozirkulation soll eine Kartierung von Messpunkten am gesunden Fuß angefertigt werden.

    Mithilfe eines O2C-Geräts (Laser-Doppler/Weißlichtspektroskopie: „oxygen to see“; LEA Medizintechnik GmbH) werden bei 40 gesunden Probanden Messungen mikrozirkulatorischer Parameter vorgenommen. Erfasst werden die Sauerstoffsättigung des Hämoglobins, die relative Hämoglobinmenge, der relative Blutfluss und die Blutflussgeschwindigkeit. Von besonderem Interesse sind anatomisch definierte Segmente des Calcaneus und des Talus, die Achillessehne sowie Weichteilareale, die für die gängigen Calcaneus-Zugangswege (laterale L-Inzision, Palmer, McReynolds) inzidiert werden müssen. Für die Untersuchung steht eine oberflächliche (2mm und 8mm Tiefe) und eine tiefe Sonde (15mm Tiefe) zur Verfügung. Insgesamt werden so 31 Messpunkte am rechten Fuß erfasst.

    Ziel ist es, in einer nativen Messreihe Normwerte der Mikrozirkulation zu ermitteln, mit deren Hilfe zukünftig drohende oder eingetretene Wundkomplikationen frühzeitig detektiert und somit behandelt werden können. Zudem sollen Grenzwerte bereits vor operativen Eingriffen dabei helfen, den individuell günstigsten Zugangsweg zu identifizieren.

    Um den Einfluss der HBO-Behandlung auf die Mikrozirkulation untersuchen zu können (zunächst am Probanden, später am Patienten), erfolgt eine zweite Messreihe im direkten Anschluss an eine HBO-Behandlung (90 Minuten bei 1,4 bar Überdruck).

    Ansprechpartner: PD Dr. med. M. Knobe, Klinik für Unfallchirurgie Uniklinik RWTH Aachen

An folgenden Forschungsarbeiten waren unter anderem Mitarbeiter des HBO-Zentrum Euregio Aachen beteiligt:

ŸŸPaper: Weber, S., et al., Hyperbaric oxygen induces apoptosis via a mitochondrial mechanismPublished online: 4 December 2008; © Springer Science+Business Media, LLC 2008

Paper: Weber, S., et al., A single exposure to hyperbaric oxygen increases levels of circulating nucleosomes but does not induce mononuclear cell apoptosis in diversUHM 2005, Vol. 32, No. 2; Copyright © 2005 Undersea and Hyperbaric Medical Society, Inc

Paper: Eichhorn, L., et al., A single air dive induces apoptotic gene regulation but no increase in nucleosomes. UHM 2016, Vol. 43, No. 7; Copyright © 2016 Undersea & Hyperbaric Medical Society, Inc. 813

Poster: Thorsten Janisch, Ullrich P.F. Siekmann, Gernot Marx, Rüdger Kopp: Einzugsgebiet einer HBO-Kammer bei der Therapie von Kohlenstoffmonoxid-Intoxikationen, Download

Poster: Rüdger Kopp, Mark Ulbrich, Charlotte Aguado Duchatsch, Andre Stollenwerk, Gernot Marx, Thorsten Janisch: Messung des Herzzeitvolumens mittels elektrischer Kardiometrie beim statischen Apnoetauchen, Download






Kontaktdaten

Zentrum für Sauerstoff-Überdrucktherapie und Tauchmedizin