• Kackertstraße 11, 52072 Aachen
  • Telephone: +49-(0)241/84044
  • Fax: +49-(0)241/8793494
  • info@hbo-aachen.de
logo
  • Center for hyperbaric oxygen therapy (HBOT) and diving medicine

The history of hyperbaric medicine and the HBO centre in Aachen

T

old hyperbaric chamber at Eilfschornsteinstreet Aachen

old hyperbaric chamber at Eilfschornsteinstreet Aachen

he time of the oil crisis in the early 1970s and the rise in importance of offshore oil production from the North Sea, saw the arrival of the technical field of diving and hyperbaric medicine in Aachen.

 

The former institute for shipbuilding in Aachen, at the Eilfschonsteinstraße, was involved in the initiation of hyperbaric working studies in a pressure chamber system built by the Dräger company. This work focused primarily on welding technologies for hyperbaric environments and underwater. The system had four individual chambers and was designed to simulate diving depths of up to 1000 metres: for practical reasons it was installed in front of the building’s third floor. It was demolished in 2013.

 

Other special hyperbaric chambers were built at Helmholtz centres and at the German aerospace centre (DLR) in Köln-Porz near Cologne (Titan deep diving system) to research the problems and effects of deep diving on people. Material testing took place at the Geesthacht underwater simulator (GUSI) of the GKSS (Gesellschaft für Kernenergieverwertung in Schiffbau und Schifffahrt – society for the use of nuclear power in ship building and shipping) near Hamburg.

 

The medical division of the field was set up from 1995 onwards by Dr. Siekmann, offering teaching, research and clinical applications. As a member of the German navy, he was aware of the outstanding clinical results of well implemented oxygen therapy in hyperbaric chambers, and after working in close co-operation with the German naval institute for maritime medicine in Kiel-Kronshagen, knew of the scientific issues of hyperbaric work. As an anaesthetist he was primarily interested in the clinical issues arising in the field of physiology which appeared to be solvable under hyperbaric conditions.

 

It was against this background that the winter semester of 1995/1996 saw the first seminar in diving and hyperbaric medicine at the clinic for anaesthesia. In the interim it has evolved to become not only an elective course of the technical faculty but is also an elective course for the new medical licensing regulations in Germany and is in fact the prototype for a seminar of the interdisciplinary medical course model in Aachen. As a result of these developments, the subject of diving and hyperbaric medicine has actually been represented at the RWTH university clinic Aachen for longer than at any other German university.

 

The spin-off of a clinical hyperbaric centre from the RWTH university clinic (HBO Centre Euregio Aachen), created the chance of also gaining clinical experience by way of patient treatment, application observations and observational studies and trials. Thus, up until 2005, more than 3,500 treatments had been implemented for the Aachen university clinic and the universities of Maastricht, Nijmegen and Amsterdam.

 

Further to the clinical issues such as the treatment of central retinal vein occlusions with hyperbaric oxygenation (department of ophthalmology), a number of individual research groups are working on cell cultures in the fields of osteoblast activity (clinics for trauma surgery and orthopaedics) as well as on questions arising in connection with inert gas narcosis of xenon on isolated cardiomyocytes (clinic for anaesthesia).

 

Two experimental hyperbaric chambers are available here.

 

In the meantime, the competence centre in Aachen for diving associated with the anaesthesiology clinic now boasts representatives of almost all special areas, for example engineering science and medicine in pertinent working groups. For example, co-operation partners provide government certified state experts for diving equipment, for technical diving, diving with rebreathers, as well as approved occupational physicians for professional diving activities and diving doctors for the diving accident hotline organised by the VDST German sports divers association; at the same time emergency services for police and the THW (the German technical emergency service organisation) are supported at underwater operations in NRW (North Rhine -Westphalia).

 

Training to become diving medicine physicians and hyperbaric physicians pursuant to the guidelines issued by the GTÜM are provided by staff of the HBO centre in Aachen.






Contact Details

Centre for hyperbaric oxygen therapy (HBOT) and diving medicine

• Kackertstraße 11, 52072 Aachen
  • Telefon: +49-(0)241/84044
  • Fax: +49-(0)241/8793494
  • info(at)hbo-aachen.de
logo
  • Zentrum für hyperbare Sauerstofftherapie (HBO) und Tauchmedizin

Geschichte der Druckkammermedizin und des HBO Zentrum Aachen

I

alte Druckkammeranlage Eilfschornsteinstraße Aachen

alte Druckkammeranlage Eilfschornsteinstraße Aachen

m zeitlichen Zusammenhang mit der Ölkrise und dem steigenden Stellenwert der Offshore-Ölförderungen in der Nordsee war der technische Bereich der Tauch- und Überdruckmedizin bereits sehr früh in Aachen vertreten.
Am ehemaligen Institut für Schiffsbaukunde wurden in Aachen in der Eilfschornsteinstraße Arbeiten unter Überdruck in einer von der Firma Dräger gebauten Druckkammeranlage durchgeführt. Hier wurden vor allem Schweißtechniken unter hohen Umgebungsdrucken und im Wasser erprobt. Die Anlage mit vier Einzelkammern war für Tauchtiefen bis zu 1000 Metern ausgelegt und aus Praktikabilitätsgründen vor die dritte Etage des Gebäudes gestellt worden. Sie wurde 2013 abgebaut.

 

Weitere Spezialdruckkammern entstanden bei den Helmholtz- Zentren, dem Deutschen Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt DLR in Köln-Porz (Tieftauchanlage Titan) zur Erforschung der Tieftauchproblematiken am Menschen und zur Materialprüfung am Geesthachter Unterwassersimulator (German Underwater Simulator GUSI) der GKSS (Gesellschaft für Kernenergieverwertung in Schiffbau und Schifffahrt) in der Nähe von Hamburg.

 

Der medizinische Bereich des Fachgebietes wurde von Dr. Siekmann ab 1995 in Lehre, Forschung und klinischer Anwendung aufgebaut. Als Angehöriger der Bundesmarine waren ihm die hervorragenden klinischen Ergebnisse einer gut durchgeführten Sauerstofftherapie in der Druckkammer geläufig und durch enge Kooperation mit dem Schifffahrtmedizinischen Institut der Bundesmarine in Kiel- Kronshagen auch die wissenschaftlichen Fragestellungen des Arbeitens unter Druck bekannt. Als Anästhesist interessierten ihn vor allem klinische Fragestellungen aus dem Bereich der Physiologie, die unter den Bedingungen des Überdrucks lösbar erschienen.

 

So wurde bereits im Wintersemester 1995/1996 das erste Seminar Tauch- und Überdruckmedizin in der Klinik für Anästhesie durchgeführt, dass sich mittlerweile nicht nur zum Wahlpflichtfach der technischen Fakultät, sondern auch zum Wahlpflichtfach der neuen Approbationsordnung und zum Prototyp eines Seminars im fachübergreifenden Modellstudiengang Medizin in Aachen entwickelt hat. Damit ist das  Fach Tauch- und Überdruckmedizin an dem Universitätsklinikum der RWTH Aachen in diesem Umfang länger vertreten als an jeder anderen deutschen Universität.

 

Nach der Ausgründung eines klinischen Druckkammerzentrums aus der Universitätsklinik der RWTH (HBO-Zentrum Euregio Aachen) ergab sich die Möglichkeit, im Rahmen von Patientenbehandlungen, Anwendungsbeobachtungen und Studien auch klinische Erfahrungen zu sammeln. So wurden bereits bis zum Jahr 2005 mehr als 3500 Therapien für die Universitätsklinik Aachen und die Universitäten in Maastricht, Nijmegen und Amsterdam durchgeführt.

 

Neben klinischen Fragestellungen wie der Therapie von Zentralvenenverschlüssen der Retina mit hyperbarem Sauerstoff (Klinik für Augenheilkunde) arbeiten einzelne Forschungsgruppen an Zellkulturen auf den Gebieten der Osteoblastenaktivität (Kliniken für Unfallchirurgie und Orthopädie) sowie bei der Fragestellung der Inertgasnarkose von Xenon an isolierten Herzmuskelzellen (Klinik für Anästhesie). Hierfür stehen zwei Experimentaldruckkammern zur Verfügung.

 

Mittlerweile sind in Aachen im Kompetenzzentrum Tauchen im Umfeld der Klinik für Anästhesiologie fast alle Spezialgebiete, seien sie ingenieurwissenschaftlich oder medizinisch, in entsprechenden Arbeitskreisen fundiert vertreten. So stellen die Kooperationspartner staatlich vereidigte Sachverständige für Tauchgeräte, das technische Tauchen, Tauchen mit Kreislaufgeräten, ebenso wie zugelassene Arbeitsmediziner für die Berufstaucherei und Taucherärzte für die Tauchunfall-Hotline des Verbandes Deutscher Sporttaucher VDST; gleichzeitig wird die Notfallversorgung von Polizei und THW bei Taucheinsätzen in NRW abgesichert.
Die Ausbildung zum Tauch- und Überdruckmediziner nach den Richtlinien der GTÜM findet durch Mitarbeiter des HBO Zentrums Aachen statt.






Kontaktdaten

Zentrum für Sauerstoff-Überdrucktherapie und Tauchmedizin

Text auf der Schaltfläche
zur Seite

Informieren Sie sich auch über die Geschichte der Tauchmedizin!